Featured Who Will Win The Calder???

Discussion in 'NHL Discussion' started by Johnny Superbman, Mar 16, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Johnny Superbman

Johnny Superbman Admin 2BCProductions

Hey Boys,

So the regular season is almost done and we have a three horse race for rookie of the year. Filip Forsberg from Nashville, Johnny Gaudreau from Calgary and Aaron Ekblad from Florida are the contenders this year and choosing a winner from these 3 ain't easy. Now my opinion may be biased since during my childhood I was either a defender or a midfielder in soccer and then when I started playing Hockey, I always loved playing on the blue line. I find that yes the forwards get all the glory but those same forwards need the defenders or midfielders to feed them the puck/ball so that they can score. When it comes to playing for fun with your friends then of course everyone wants to put up points. However, when it comes to winning games on a professional level it's all about the little things. This is why my choice for the Calder this year is Aaron Ekblad. What Ekblad has done as an 18 year old playing on a team that finished 2nd worst last year is incredible. He's 4th on the team for points, 1st for team defenceman points, he's second on the team in total ice time and the Panthers are competing for a Playoff spot less than a year after tanking.